About Us

The Fremont Elite Runners’ Club was started in 1978 by a group of avid runners of Fremont, Ohio to support and encourage one another as well as other local athletes in their journey for health and wellness. Each year FERC hosts numerous road races of varying distances and assists others with running events in Northwest, Ohio. This tradition has been passed on to the current club members who enjoy group runs, races, social events, and online support through the FERC Facebook page and website.

The highlight event for FERC is the Camelback Races held every year. This upcoming June the 39th Annual Camelback Run will once again feature a challenging 10K race as well as a 5K race along with 2K and 1/4 Mile Youth Races.

Members gather for group runs of various distances often taking advantage of the North Coast Inland Trail. Other events available to members include a yearly Mystery run and cookout, night runs on the trail and a yearly group dinner.

Proceeds from club events are often used to assist those in need in the local community. Races like the early spring Melt the Ice 5K and holiday themed Jingle Bell Run 5K help to support local charities and nonprofits such as the Exchange Club, United Way and The Rutherford B. Hayes Presidential Center

Fremont Elite Runners Club is an affiliate of the Road Runners Club of America. FERC is open to anyone with an interest in walking, jogging and/or running.


Brandan's Brigade

Brandan's Brigade fund provides running shoes to local middle school and high school athletes in need. Program started by Marc Glotzbecker and named in the honor of Hall of Fame member Brandan Biggert.

Fremont Force

Youth cross country, indoor & outdoor track running program hosted by the Sandusky County YMCA. FERC assists with coaching, timing, and meet management. Program started by Marc Glotzbecker.

Become A Member

Membership fees help fund various races and events throughout the year. You also get benefits like discounts on club races and entry to member only events.

Cost is only $5 for individuals. Students are free!

  • Online

    Signup or renew membership through RunSignUp

  • Mail-In

    Mail-in membership form

Club Officers

2022 Club Officers

Caroline Byrne



Vice President

Scott Snodgrass


Glenn Bowen


Hall of Fame

The following have been recognized for their countless hours of dedication to the club

Robert (Bob) Marker

Inducted 2012

Whayong (Y) Semer

Inducted 2012

Raymond (Ray) Rendon

Inducted 2012

Glenn Bowen

Inducted 2012

Ron Brant

Inducted 2012

Greg Gerber

Inducted 2012

Gary Logsdon

Inducted 2013

Brandan Biggert

Inducted 2016

Gary McClory

Inducted 2016

Marc Glotzbecker

Inducted 2016

Andy Glick

Inducted 2017

Dave Slater

Inducted 2018

John, Cindy & Scott Snodgrass

Inducted 2019